Skip to content
April 11, 2011 / The Ghost

High Definition

Lots of people are asking me about the difference between HD Ready and Full HD. In my experience as a SENIOR ICT Technician, I’ ll explain what the difference is, and how you can make a lot of profit with the stok exchange. As you can understand, no movie review today, but something fun, related to it!

What is High Definition? Wikipedia defines HD as a video having resolution substantially higher than traditional television systems (standard-definition TV, or SDTV, or SD). HDTV has one or two million pixels per frame, roughly five times that of SD. So, HD is a lot bigger than all other thingies. As you can see on this picture:



The most used HDTV-formats are:

  • 1280 x 720, progressive 30, 50 of 60 Hz, known as 720p30, 720p50 of 720p60
  • 1920 x 1080, progressive, 50 en 60 Hz, known as 1080p50 en 1080p60 (Full HD)

Other HDTV formats are:

  • 1920 x 1080, interlaced, 50 en 60 Hz, known as 1080i50 of 1080i60
  • 1280 x 720, progressive, 24 en 25 Hz, known as 720p24 en 720p25
  • 1920 x 1080, progressive, 24, 25 en 30 Hz, known as 1080p24, 1080p25 en 1080p30

Now, this is where HD ready and Full HD kicks in. All HD is full, so that’ s just a load of bullshit. HD Ready is ready for HD. So when you go to a shop, buy the HD Ready tv. The Full HD tv is not ready for HD broadcasts. That’ s obvious. The “known as”- part is based on the resolution. For example: I have a computer screen which is 1680x1050px. Then you can say: “My computer screen is 1050p”. 1920×1200 becomes 1200p. Easy as that.

For those who do not understand “interlaced” and “progressive”, it’ s like a cheetah chasing a turtle. Interlaced is very bad quality, while progressive is actually very very good, as I am. PS: The turtle wins because it has his house with him, the cheetah needs to keep on running and gets tired, so he gives up. In addition to the formats listed above, there’ s also the Walhalla of all formats: 1200p. The highest you can get. It’ s displayed only on the iPad and some computer screens for now, but soon it will find its way to television I think. Now the “p” and “i” at the end of the number doesn’ t stand for interlaced or progresssive. The “i” stands for iPad, the “p” stands for Plop. This is actually something a lot of people don’ t know!

Now, a little word about the Stock Exchange. I promised. Well, a couple of weeks ago I bought myself some Apple stocks. Now I’ m buying myself an iPad and hope that it gets broken soon, so I can buy a new one. Reason? Easy: Buying the iPad makes the Apple stocks fly high. The more I buy, the more profit I make. That’ s why I bought myself a 135″ HD Ready television. That way I need to buy an iPad HD-connector. Else I can’ t connect my iPad to the screen. The connector is made by Apple. By the way, I find it not logical that when the iPad is connected to the screen, the screen isn’ t a touchscreen. Shouldn’ t that work when it’ s all connected to eachother?? So again: I buy, I make profit. It’ s so logical. I don’ t know why so many people don’ t dare to buy stocks..!

My recommendations

Buy a HD Ready television. LCD, because that’ s so much better than Plasma (the name alone sucks monkeyballs). Then buy an iPad, an iPad HD connector and Apple stocks.

  • LCD HD Ready tv
  • iPad
  • iPad HD Connector
  • Apple Stocks

Don’ t hesitate if you have questions! I’ ll try to answer them as soon as possible. 🙂

Leave a Reply

